Skip to content

Enterprise Environment in P6

Cristina BostonMember for 17 years 2 months
Created
7
4
0
Good afternoon P6 gurus :~)

How can I separate a project schedule from the others in the Enterrise P6 environment? What do I mean: every time I make a change on one of my projects (like adding or deleting columns, or even worse...updating/changing DD for a project) it operates/transfers the change to all my other projects.

I tried to assign to the projects the Innactive status or Planned status. It’s not working. Am I doing something wrong? Or (scarry) that’s the way it should operate: interactive?

Thank you so much for your answer.

Cristina

7 replies

Oldest first
  1. 0
    Anoon Iimos ·
    Have you tried making layout for each project? Or assign DD for each project as well?
  2. 0
    Ronald Winter ·
    Cristina,

    It sounds to me like you are opening all of your projects at the same time. Only open one schedule at a time. To do this, select File / Open and then just double-click on the one schedule that you intend to update. That should solve 90% of your problems. Good luck!
  3. 0
    Cristina Boston ·
    Ron,

    I do not open all the projects at the same time (at least not willingly). I go to Projects-highlight the project I need to open-right click on it-Open project.
  4. 0
    Muhmad Elshaikh ·
    As i understood from you
    you have to chnge the layout if you mean changing on the form like adding or deleting column
  5. 0
    Cristina Boston ·
    Well, I guess I am more a P3 person.
    I definitely have to think differently when I use P6.
    In P3 whatever was done to a project...stayed with that project.
  6. 0
    Rafael Davila ·
    Cristina,

    I had similar issues long ago (2001) with P3e the first enterprise version of Primavera software. Because I stopped using it long ago I cannot recall the details but as far as I can remember whenever you opened a job it stayed opened witin the group, if you opened another job then you got two opened jobs and the only way to close a job was by closing them all (close all) and open again only the job you want to keep separate with regard to DD, about layouts not sure if they run common within ea portfolio.

    Hope this can help you find your way, P6 got to be more up to date and the ways of doing things might differ.

    Best regards,
    Rafael
  7. 0
    Cristina Boston ·
    Thank you all for your advice. Let me see if it works.

Log in or join to reply

ProjectControls.com is free to join. Members can post questions, reply, vote and follow discussions.

Existing members: your original username and password still work. Forgot password?