Skip to content

How P6 server functioned?

Izam ZakariaMember for 20 years 4 months
Created
3
3
0
Hi guys,

Can someone explain me a little bit regarding how P6 server functioned? The query is if we’ve 5 planners that working on one file, is it all of them can update and save the file? Or it will be one master-user can save the file?

thx pals

3 replies

Oldest first
  1. 0
    Ronald Winter ·
    All authorized users may add, modify, and delete P6 data whenever they desire (even at the same time.) This can cause problems with people modifying the database while others are sill looking at the old data. Later, they may cause the data in the database to revert to the old values because they updated some other aspect of the activity using the old data.

    If multiple people are going to access the same schedule and even the same activity at the same time, it is imperative that they learn how to periodically refresh the screen prior to making their change. That is what the F5 key is for. Look to your manual for more information on this. Good luck!
  2. 0
    Ian Nicholson ·
    Further to Ron’s post, all users should be trained to hit F5 before hitting F9 or you won’t get all the changes incorporated into the re-schedule. This is for the desktop client tool only.

    This is a non-issue if you are working in MyPrimavera, since the reschedule works of the database data.
  3. 0
    Ahmad Rashidi ·
    Izam,

    Yes, all 5 users can modify and update the project at the same time as long as you have the user access right. The enterprise system has to be carefully design to ensure that we could open the level of project data required at any one time.

    P6 Enterprise is nice when and if the LAN is working 100% of all the time. For the last 3 weeks, I’ve seen the need to have the standalone license on our machine as we can’t really rely on P6 on server. PM me for details if you want to know more - currently I’m working with 20 users environment.

    Salam,
    Rashidi.

Log in or join to reply

ProjectControls.com is free to join. Members can post questions, reply, vote and follow discussions.

Existing members: your original username and password still work. Forgot password?