Excel to P3
In the Open Standard
BN
Benjamin NicomedesMember for 19 years 11 months
- Created
- 27
- 4
0
27 replies
Oldest first- 0AFAlexandre Faulx-Briole ·Benjamin,
1. Set up a layout that contains the fields you want to import from Excel; this will be your template once open in Excel
2. Enter a few activities and export the project to Lotus 123
3. Open this .wk1 into Excel and enter the appropriate data
4. Save the file, then import it into P3.
That’s all - 0FCFannie CHOW ·hi,
I do it as below
1. Export a template, select what field you need, to databass, dbf
2. Open that dbf file and fill up the information.
3.Save the file as check the "define"
4.Import the file again.
I think the trick is the define database field of excel.
Hope it’s helpful
Cheers
Fannie - 0RWRonald Winter ·Actually, Excel does open WK1 files. Use File / Open and then change the file template by clicking on “Files of Type” dropdown at the bottom of the screen. Then you need to use the ‘elevator’ control to the right to scroll all the way down to the bottom of the list where it says, “Lotus 123 files.” Click there and you can now see and open the file. Goo luck!
- 0PKPrabin Kumar ·Hi Benjamin,
You can export any data in 4 format (i.e. - .PRN, .DBF, WK1 & WKS ).
Except .PRN, all three can be open with Excel file.
and you can import any data with DBF, WK1 and WKS format only.
There is one more way to open and modify a p3 project in ms excel , i.e. by Ra->Sample->Excel folder. By this way you can fully access your project in excel , and can do some modification in your project from there.
Thanks,
Prabin Kumar - 0RWRonald Winter ·Perhaps we have been assuming too much. Here is the basics:
Open your schedule. from the menu, select ’Tools’ / ’Project Utilities’ / ’Export’. Click on the export that sounds closest to what you want and then click on the ’Modify’ button. The ’Format’ tab will list the current file name and file type. The output is sent to your C:\P3WIN\P3OUT directory unless you state otherwise. Give it a try, you can’t hurt anything. Good luck! - 0JRJohn Raper ·I think you have all missed one important issue here.
Open P3;
Export a layout that contains the essential fields to .WK1 or .DBF;
Open that file (it’s in the P3OUT folder) in Excel;
add the activities in the Excel file;
(this is the important bit) save the Excel file IN .WK1 OR .DBF FORMAT - DO NOT SAVE AS .XLS;
Import the .WK1 or .DBF file to P3.
WK1 and DBF formats both work well, but there is a limit of 2400 activities when using WK1.
Hope this helps
John - 0EEEric EVRARD ·Hello everybody,
As John Raper said, there is a limit of 2400 activities with WK1 files.
However, if you exceed 2400 acivities, you have to save 2 WK1 files with separated activities and 2 other WK1 files with the links.Once this is done save and close your WK1 files, if not no import will be possible.
First import the 1st Activity WK1 files, then import the 1st Link WK1 file on an empty primavera layout.
Do the same with the others activity & Link files on another primavera project.
Close the second Primavera Project and from the 1st you make an import of the second project by using the transfert button in the import option window.
I did it with 2950 activities and didn’t have any problems.
Regards - 0RQRuben Quintal ·hello everybody,
i find its easy to import activity details from primavera to excel using import and P3 tools, but its kind of difficult trying to import a summarize data (eg. percent complete summarize by Floor Level).
This import can be done very easily in P3 v5.
Is there a way to do this in P3 v3.1?
tnx,
ben
- 0RMRodel Marasigan ·Hi Ruben,
I don’t quite understand your query. Do you mean displaying subtotal per floor level in P3v3.1 or import data from a project created into summary using Tools-> Project utilities-> Summarize?
If you only wish to display the summary total on your P3v3.1 you can use Organize and on the Total column select Bottom or Top to display your subtotal. You don’t need to import it from excel because its automatic.
If you required the percentage import from the created Project by P3 Project utilities summarize menu then use import/export facility from Tools-> Project Utilities-> Import… (I assume you are familiar import/export facilities)
Regards,
Rodel - 0ADAmir Dadbakhsh ·Hi guys
Be careful that Excel 2007 does not support saving in some old format such as WK1,WKS (this caused me a lot of problem ! if anyone has some excel interface which would be help to import & export data to p3, please email it for me dadbakhsh@yahoo.com)
For your information, I paste some information which I found on http://blogs.msdn.com/
The following formats cannot be opened or saved in Excel 2007:
WK1 (1-2-3)
WK4 (1-2-3)
WJ3 (1-2-3 Japanese) (.wj3)
WKS (1-2-3)
WK3,(1-2-3)
WK1,FMT(1-2-3)
WJ2 (1-2-3 Japanese) (.wj2)
WJ3, FJ3 (1-2-3 Japanese) (.wj3)
DBF 2 (dBASE II)
WQ1 (Quattro Pro/DOS)
WK3,FM3(1-2-3)
Microsoft Excel Chart (.xlc)
WK1,ALL(1-2-3)
WJ1 (1-2-3 Japanese) (.wj1)
WKS (Works Japanese) (.wks)
The following formats may be opened, but not saved to in Excel 2007:
Microsoft Excel 2.1 Worksheet
Microsoft Excel 2.1 Macro
Microsoft Excel 3.0 Worksheet
Microsoft Excel 3.0 Macro
Microsoft Excel 4.0 Worksheet
Microsoft Excel 4.0 Macro
Microsoft Excel 97- Excel 2003 & 5.0/95 Workbook
Microsoft Excel 4.0 Workbook
DBF 3 (dBASE III)
DBF 4 (dBASE IV)
- 0RQRuben Quintal ·rodel,
im trying to find a way to automate the process of making weekly reports using P3 v3.1. By using summary function, that means that i have to input the data manually into excel to make a graphical presentation/report which is very time consuming. So, using export function in P3, using same format each import and linking the datas in excel, making the report is just a matter of 2 or 3 clicks of a mouse. The problem is that summarize datas cannot be imported into excel.any idea?
Cheers,
BEN - 0RMRodel Marasigan ·Ruben,
I don’t have any problem exporting/ importing data from excel in P3v3.1.
Follow this steps and it may help.
1) Open your P3
2) Select Tool-> Project Utilities-> Summarize..
3) On the pop-up Summarize Projects Enter New Project name say: ABCD on Summary Project pull down box
4) Click + on Source projects and select the project you want to summarize
5) Click the Summarize by pull down box and select activity code to the level you want to summarize
6) Set your data date and the rest items that you required and click Summarize button
7) Open the New Project created say : ABCD
8) Select Tool-> Project Utilities-> Export..
9) Select Export File – Dbase – Schedule data or any format that you’re familiar and click Modify
10) Add all the fields you wanted to export
11) Click the Format Tab and Change the Name to new Filename that you wanted (note: dbf extension max of 9 characters only) and make sure the type is [.DBF] –III/IV
12) Add sorting if required
13) Click the Selection Tab if filter or selection is required
14) Click run and select View on Screen
15) The file created with .dbf extension by default is saved to P3OUT folder.
16) Open your Excel program and on Open dialog box change the files of type to dbase files (*.dbf) and look for your exported file
17) Update your data and save it to the same format
18) Import updated database (.dbf) using P3 Tools-> Project Utilities-> Import…
Your files should be updated. Let me know it you require further assistance.
Regards,
Rodel - 0ADArvin Dayday ·IMPORTING DATA FROM EXCELL
A. CREATING DATA IN MSEXCELL
1.Open a New MsExcell file
2.Create your data where column headers should match the P3 compatible abbreviation (required column headings are ACT-Activity ID, TITLE-Activity Description, OD-Original duration)
3.DO NOT FORMAT THE CELLS of your excel file.
4.Saves your File in a DB4 format.
5.If prompter to save an active sheet only, click YES.
6.If prompted to save in DB4 format only, click YES.
7.CLOSE the file before importing to P3.
B. IMPORTING EXCELL DATA IN P3
1.Create a NEW P3 file
2.To Import including ACTIVITY CODES VALUE, create first the ACTIVITY CODES
3.Go to TOOLS, PROJECT UTILITIES, IMPORT
4.Click ADD, and create a new REPORT
5.Write the correct path of the DB4 file in the Enter path name and Input File cell (ex. File.dbf)
6.Click OK to close and click RUN
7.In the Output Option, point to Save in the ff. look file.
8.Click OK
9.Click CLOSE
10.Click YES, when prompted to Rerun Current Filter.
IMPORTING OR OPENING P3 DATA IN EXCELL
A. CREATING DATA IN P3
1.Create the P3 file
2.Go to TOOLS, PROJECT UTILITIES, EXPORT
3.Click ADD and create a new report file.
4.Click Content tab and insert data in the list box you want to export to EXCELL or click ALL CURRENT to export the entire data of P3 to EXCELL.
5.Click FORMAT tab, and create the DBF path and file name.
6.Click RUN and point to Save to ff: Look File.
7.Click OK to Close
B.INSERTING EXPORTED P3 TO EXCELL
1.Create a NEW file or OPEN an existing File.
2.To insert the P3 file, go to DATA, IMPORT EXTERNAL DATA
3.Click IMPORT DATA
4.Search for the exported P3 file in DBF format and click OK
5.Select a Cell, and click OK
Log in or join to reply
ProjectControls.com is free to join. Members can post questions, reply, vote and follow discussions.
Existing members: your original username and password still work. Forgot password?