Skip to content

Annoying print settings

Terry WhiteMember for 22 years 8 months
Created
4
6
0
I’ve got a project which could easily scale onto an A1 size sheet, but for some reason it still insists on printing on two sheets side by side. The second sheet is nearly all blank with no information showing except for a tiny end bit of the Gannt chart appearing at the bottom left hand corner.

Is anyone able to help me please with any suggestions ?

4 replies

Oldest first
  1. 0
    Martin Hunt ·
    Have you tried reducing the Size % in the timescale data when you right click the dates at the top of the Gantt?

    You can fit to one page also (page setup) and or opt to only print the timescales that you need when you press file print (bottom corner)
  2. 0
    Darren Kosa ·
    Hi Terry,

    What you describe is fairly common but there are a number of probable causes. Hopefully one of these suggestions will give you a solution.

    Change the date range
    (File > Print) in the Timescale options either select the All radio button or select the Dates radio button and change the Finish date so that it’s after the end date of the project.

    Change the Gantt Chart timescale to fit on A1 before you print
    (Format > Timescale) adjust the timescale on whatever Tier tabs you use (i.e. if you use days change to weeks, if you use weeks change to months). Then use the print preview to see if it fits on one page (File > Print Preview).

    Only print the first page
    (File > Print) in the Print Range options select the Page(s) radio button and then only choose the print range From: 1 To: 1. this should only print the first page.

    You can also use Page Setup if none of the above fixes your problem.

    Regards,

    Darren
  3. 0
    Alexandre Faulx-Briole ·
    Hello all,
    this is a well known bug that appeared in MS Project 98 or 2000 and that MS is reluctant to reckognize
    as far I as know, there is very little that can be done to correct the situation; sometime, the offending blank page disappears when you check-out the Fit timescale to Page in Preview, Setup, Display ( I am transtlating freely from French), sometime it does not do anything
    just be patient, it’s only MS Project...
    Alexandre
  4. 0
    Terry White ·
    Thank you to everyone who replied. Following your advice I managed to squeeze the Gannt chart onto one page. It still wanted to print more, but I prevented them by just printing page 1 only.

Log in or join to reply

ProjectControls.com is free to join. Members can post questions, reply, vote and follow discussions.

Existing members: your original username and password still work. Forgot password?