Skip to content

P6 saving data confusion

Richard BrownMember for 14 years 10 months
Created
4
1
0

When you change layout after updating data should you save the layout first. I have noticed when you save layout and then go back into the layout later the data (dates) have changed but if you do not save then the changes are ok.

I'm confused because at the training course recently attended the tutor always reiterated not to save the layout when asked but other people have said that you should save!!

Help please as i'm totally confused.

4 replies

Oldest first
  1. 0
    Alfredo Jr. Hubilla ·

    When you change layout after

    When you change layout after updating data should you save the layout first.- If you want to retain the old Layout then dont save it but if you want to see the changes try the "SAVE AS" option.

    I'm confused because at the training course recently attended the tutor always reiterated not to save the layout when asked but other people have said that you should save!! - Sometimes you dont have to save the layout just to retain your old layout; but if you want the changes that you made to your layout just try the SAVE AS.

     

    Hope this will help.

  2. 0
    Anning Sofi ·

    I agree with Alfred

    I agree with Alfred posting.

    Only, I want to add that  in earlier versions prior to P6 V 7, P6 sometimes or most of the time lost the layout saved after P6 exit.

  3. 0
    Raymund de Laza ·

    Hi, Try saving the layout for

    Hi,

    Try saving the layout for the Current User Only otherwise all users who uses the same layout may modify them and will of course be different from what you saved the last time.

    Hope this wil help.

  4. 0
    Manoj VS ·

    Saved layouts can be

    Saved layouts can be retrieved at later stages. 

    If you have changed some thing to persent layout and saved by over writing present layout youcan retrive layout with latest changes only.

    At training your trainer may require the layout which he use for describing later lessons. that may be the reason he told not to save the layout.

Log in or join to reply

ProjectControls.com is free to join. Members can post questions, reply, vote and follow discussions.

Existing members: your original username and password still work. Forgot password?