Skip to content

P6 removes remaining labour units and costs when actualising finish.

Thomas NicholsonMember for 20 years
Created
8
4
0

Hi all, 

I'm just after some clarification rather than help for a change. it's something we've not noticed before and it could just be us but when we actualise the finish date of an activity has P6 always removed remaining costs and units automatically?  My planners and I are sure we've had to work on costs after doing this in the past. 

I just want to be sure in case someone in our organisation has changed a setting I can't see offhand to make it do this all of a sudden. 

Cheers

Thom

8 replies

Oldest first
  1. 0
    Rodel Marasigan ·

    Hi Thomas,That is correct. P6

    Hi Thomas,

    That is correct. P6 will automatically removed remaining Cost and remaining Unit when actualised the finished date. If you have actualised the cost and units to less or greater than budgeted unit / cost then tick the actual finished date, therefore what ever remaining unit/ cost will be removed. The main reason is if the Activity is completed then no more remaining duration. It's self explanatory. If no more remaining duration, therefore no duration left to hold the remaining cost/ unit. You cannot assume 0 duration can hold cost or unit.

  2. 0
    Zoltan Palffy ·

    done is done why would you

    done is done why would you have any remaining unless you completed it in less time than planned ?

  3. 0
    Zoltan Palffy ·

    done is done why would you

    done is done why would you have any remaining unless you completed it in less time than planned ?

  4. 0
    Thomas Nicholson ·

    Hi Zoltan, I know I know, but

    Hi Zoltan, 

    I know I know, but it's one of those things I'm sure we've never seen our system do before.  Usually we've had to sort the remaining and costs ourselves.  Logically it makes sense, we've just got to sort the costs before pushing the button. 

    Thank you as always for being the voice of reason. 

    Thom

  5. 0
    Zoltan Palffy ·

    if you do not want to do this

    if you do not want to do this then turn the setting off

    go to projects directory 

    then the calculations tab

    on the right resource assignments

    under when updaing Actual units or costs uncheck Recalculate Actual Units and costs whne duration % complete changes

  6. 0
    Thomas Nicholson ·

    Zoltan, I knew there was a

    Zoltan, 

    I knew there was a setting somewhere for it, thank you for that but I take your point about done is done. 

    cheers

    Thom

  7. 0
    Thomas Nicholson ·

    Zoltan, I knew there was a

    Zoltan, 

    I knew there was a setting somewhere for it, thank you for that but I take your point about done is done. 

    cheers

    Thom

  8. 0
    Zoltan Palffy ·

    you can change it if you want

    you can change it if you want to 

Log in or join to reply

ProjectControls.com is free to join. Members can post questions, reply, vote and follow discussions.

Existing members: your original username and password still work. Forgot password?