Skip to content

Close/No Save a project

Alexandre Faulx-BrioleMember for 23 years 8 months
Created
5
2
0
Hello there,
I understand that P3 automatically save the project file when I click File, Close; the only question it is asking is about saving the layout.
Is there a way NOT TO SAVE the project at closing?
Does P3 automatically save the current file on a timely basis?
All the best,
Alexandre

5 replies

Oldest first
  1. 0
    Forum Guest ·
    P3 is a database. Any changes you make are automatically written back to the database, as opposed to software which effectively copies the data to working memory and then overwites your source data on save.

    This is also why there is no undo feature.

    If you dont necessarily want to save the changes you make, I would recommend taking a copy of your P3 project before you make any changes.
  2. 0
    Ronald Winter ·
    You have it wrong. P3 does not save your changes when you close your schedule; it saves it when you press the OK button or when you click outside of the activity you are working on.

    One of the differences from MS Project and P3 is that P3 allows multiple people to be working on the same schedule at the same time. You can do this because the database is automatically updated as you work. Good luck!
  3. 0
    Alexandre Faulx-Briole ·
    Thanks, guys I had noticed a short "Saving file" after I had pushed the F9 Schedule key. Your posts are making things clearer for me. Alexandre
  4. 0
    Forum Guest ·
    Recommendation to P3 software: Pls add in the UNDO function, otherwise more people will choose MS project
  5. 0
    Mk Tse ·
    Alex,
    The message saving in scheduling is saving the calculated result, like total float, free float, dates, etc.

    Forum guest,
    We have express before: -
    - No more enhancement on P3 will be released by Primavera, all on P3e, P3e/c, TeamPlay
    - Database solution cannot UNDO

Log in or join to reply

ProjectControls.com is free to join. Members can post questions, reply, vote and follow discussions.

Existing members: your original username and password still work. Forgot password?