Skip to content

Activity ID and Exclusive

Moutaz AldeibMember for 22 years 9 months
Created
5
2
0
Dear all,

It’s well known that when you build a new schedule by using a new form, p3 takes you to the normal page of schedule to build your schedule, you start with Activity ID, but when you want to edit the activity ID, you should close the page and open again then tick "exclusive", is there any simple way you can edit the activity ID without closing the page and open it again.

Regards,

Moutaz

5 replies

Oldest first
  1. 0
    Ife Olyke ·
    Hi Moutaz,

    Follow these steps,

    Select the activity ID,
    Hold down Ctrl key and Press "C"
    Hold down CTRL key and Press "V"
    Rename Duplicates
    Edit the Activity ID
    OK

    I hope this helps. Cheers.

    Olyke
  2. 0
    Frank Borcherdt ·
    Copy and paste leaves the original activity ID in your schedule ie activity is now duplicated. Use cut and paste and check the box for external relationships to effectively change the Activity Id without duplication.

    HTH
    Frank Borcherdt
  3. 0
    A D ·
    If u r frequently editing the activity ID, then do this

    Open windows folder in the main drive (C:)

    open P3.ini file in the windows folder

    Search for

    ExclForActIDEdit

    In the value, if it is 1, change it to O.

    Evertime you will open P3 after that, you dont require to check on Exclusive box. By default it will take exclusive.

    If you dont want, then simply change the value to 1.

    Hope this is much easier.

    Cheers,

    Raviraj A Bhedase
  4. 0
    Ife Olyke ·
    Raviraj,

    I suppose in a multiple user environment,changing ExclForActIDEdit value from 1 to 0 will show you as exclusive all the time, which implies that other users will not be able to make changes to the plan. Am I correct?

    Frank:
    Thanks for pointing out that copying and pasting will leave you with duplicate activities. You know we all have our different ways of doing these things… There is no undo command in P3, so I like copying and pasting, then going back to delete the old activity; that way, I keep track of my activities and can trace back any error. Also checking the box for pasting external relationship..


    Ifeanyi
  5. 0
    A D ·
    Yes absolutely,

    In a multi user environment, you will have the exclusive access.

    I forgot to mention in my previous mail.

    Thanks,

    Raviraj A Bhedase

Log in or join to reply

ProjectControls.com is free to join. Members can post questions, reply, vote and follow discussions.

Existing members: your original username and password still work. Forgot password?